Follow Over The Edge on Twitter

Thursday, August 26, 2010

SHORT-LIST ANNOUNCED for 2010 Over The Edge New Writer of The Year

The short-list for the 2010 Over The Edge New Writer of The Year competition was announced earlier this evening at the August 'Over The Edge: Open Reading' in Galway City Library. This year's competition has attracted a record 341 entries: 152 poetry entries and 189 fiction entries. The short-list is as follows:

Elizabeth Brennan, Wexford, Ireland
Laura Brennan, Galway, Ireland
Marie Cadden, Galway, Ireland
June Caldwell, Dublin, Ireland
Angela T. Carr, Dublin, Ireland
Martin Casey, Mayo, Ireland
Sarah Clancy, Galway, Ireland
Jane Clarke, Wicklow, Ireland
Paul Conway, Galway, Ireland
Elaine Cosgrove, Galway, Ireland
Margaret T. Costello, Louth, Ireland
Evan Costigan, Kildare, Ireland
Kevin Doyle, Cork, Ireland
Noel Duffy, Dublin, Ireland
Danni Emery, London, UK
Nicola Griffin, Clare, Ireland
Rachael Hegarty, Dublin, Ireland
Alex Hijmans, Brazil
Jean Kavanagh, Clare, Ireland
Eileen Keane, Dublin, Ireland
Tom Lavelle, Galway, Ireland
Antoinette McCarthy, Kilkenny, Ireland
Danielle McLoughlin, Cork, Ireland
Niamh Mulvey, Kilkenny, Ireland
Aongus Murtagh, Berlin, Germany
Kathleen Murray, Dublin, Ireland
Michael O'Siochain, Cork, Ireland
Kevin O'Shea, Galway, Ireland
James O'Toole, Galway, Ireland
Evelyn Parsons, Galway, Ireland
Desmond Rice, Cape Town, South Africa
Jane Rooney, Dublin, Ireland
Seamus Scanlon, New York, USA
Maresa Sheehan, Carlow, Ireland
Michael Solis, Galway, Ireland/New Jersey, USA
Ekaterina Tikhoniouk, Laois, Ireland
Jean Tuomey, Mayo, Ireland
Steve Wade, Dublin, Ireland
Evelyn Walsh, Dublin, Ireland
Suzanne Walsh, Tiperary, Ireland

The winners in the fiction and poetry categories and the 2010 Over The Edge New Writer of The Year will be announced at the September 'Over The Edge: Open Reading' in Galway City Library on Thursday, September 30th (6.30-8pm).

This year’s competition judge is James Martyn. James is from Galway where he is a member of The Talking Stick Writing Workshop. James writes both fiction and poetry. He has had work broadcast on both RTE and BBC and won the Listowel Writers Week Originals Short Story Competition. His work has appeared in The Cúirt Journal, West 47, Books Ireland, Crannóg, TheSunday Tribune, The Stinging Fly and The Shop. He was shortlisted for a Hennessy Award in 2006. He was shortlisted for the Francis McManus award in both 2007 and 2008 and for The William Trevor International Short Story Competition in 2007. His first collection of poetry, Shedding Skin, was recently published by Arlen House.

The 2010 Over The Edge New Writer of The Year competition is sponsored by Charlie Byrne's Bookshop and Michael D. Higgins T.D