Follow Over The Edge on Twitter

Thursday, August 29, 2019

2019 Over The Edge New Writer of The Year LONGLIST





Phelim Kavanagh, ‘Fieldnotes’

Mary Quine, ‘Tommy’

Eamonn McGuinners, ‘Stars’ & ‘Names’

Niamh MacCabe, ‘Instructions’

PJ Moore, ‘You’ & ‘Noddy’

Kathryn Burke, ‘High’ & ‘Interim’

Kate Ennals, ‘Cobbler’

Sean Glynn, ‘Shoot’

Aelmuire Mullaney, ‘Conversations’

Creighton O’Sullivan, ‘Sonny’

Robert Kibble, ‘Drowning’

Daniel Wade, ‘Green’

David O’Dwyer, ‘Discovery’

Jessamine O’Connor, ‘Finding’

Maria Dolores, ‘Listening’

Colin Kerr, ‘When’

Alec Solomita, ‘Anne’

Louise Bunyan, ‘Box’

Kirsty Warren, ‘Lionheart’

Aongus Murtagh, ‘Puppet’

Mark Ward, ‘Bone’ & ‘Lisdoonvarna’

Dominique Cleary, ‘Meeting’

Aoibhinn O’Sullivan, ‘Roots’

Alice Redmond, ‘Chicken’

Eileen Keane, ‘Summer’

Helena Farrell, ‘Stone’, ‘Journey’ & ‘Where’

Rory Duffy, ‘Soul’

Ethan Goodfellow, ‘Fly’

Deirdre McClay, ‘Hannah’s

Carla Shackleford, ‘Schenley’

Claire Loader, ‘Clontuskert’

Molly Harris, ‘Discreet’ & ‘Last’

Rozz Lewis, ‘Gist’ & ‘Balacoa’

Caroline Farrell, ‘December’

David Green, ‘Loss’


Nidhi Zak, ‘Fugue’

Donna Shaughnessy, ‘Kingdom’

Margot Harrison ‘Shelly’

Claire Loader, ‘Said’

Kathryn Burke, ‘Sherbrooke’

Audrey Molloy, ‘Knew’’

Gavan Duffy, ‘Subjective’

Síle Ní Chatháin, ‘Crepusculum’

Breda Joyce, ‘Guardian’

Una O’Farrell, ‘Toxic’

Barbara Dunne, ‘Transubstantial’

Bobbie Sparrow, ‘Persistence’

Vincent Steed, ‘Somewhere’

Sighle Meehan, ‘Visiting’

James O’Toole, ‘Horse’

Morag Anderson, ‘Brown Baby’

Molly Twomey, ‘Atalanta’

Anne Walsh Donnelly, ‘Goddess’ & ‘Day’

Jessica Pape, ‘Marbles’

Danny McBrearty, ‘Mothballs’

Attracta Fahy, ‘Love Poem’

Deirdre McClay, ‘Visiting’

Jill Kenny, ‘Woman’

Barbara DeCoursey Roy, ‘Last’

Sinead Mongan, ‘Tuning’

Iris M Mora, ‘Grounded’ & ‘Breaking’

Evan Costigan, ‘Trouble’

Rob Childers, ‘Fish’

Kevin Chesser, ‘Off-Roading’

Denise Nagle, ‘Racer

Helena Kilty ‘Battlecry

Caroline Johnstone ‘Dash’

Stephen de Búrca, ‘Scoping’

Tim Dwyer, ‘Phoenix’

Nollaig Rowan, ‘Admit’

Ann Herrington, ‘Day’

Nicola Geddes, ‘Arcadia’

Mary O’Melveny, ‘Freedom’

Maeve McKenna, ‘Sound’

Sandy Yannone, ‘Apology’

Kirsty Warren, ‘Interstate’

Peter Clarke, ‘Blessed’

Bern Butler, ‘Arriver’

Andrea Ward, ‘Abbey’

Tim Emlyn Jones, ‘Discourse’

Grace Wilentz, ‘Coral’

Brian Gourley, ‘Marble’

Eimear Laffan, ‘Inflection’

Akshaya Pawaskar, ‘Centenarian’

Maureen Butler, ‘More’

Frank Farrelly, ‘Breakfast’

Jennifer Davis, ‘Friday’

Niamh MacCabe, ‘Strange’

Jon McLeod, ‘Versus’

Tracy Gaughan, ‘Auguries’

Jorge Leiva, ‘We’

Eoin Chambers, ‘Crush’

Patrick Holloway, ‘Darkness’

Kathryn Slattery, ‘Professor’

Caroline Bracken, ‘Used’

Linda Ford, ‘Eyelashes’

David Estringel, ‘Sky’

Maria Dolores, ‘Iberian’

Paul McCarrick, ‘Closed’

Jessamine O’Connor, ‘Never’

Lorraine Wood, ‘Snuff’

Sacha Hutchinson, ‘Last’

Mark Scullion, ‘Sister

Susan Coyle, ‘Literary’

Lydia Harris, ‘Holy’

David Morris, ‘Ordinance’

Paula Conway, ‘After’

Patricia Walsh, ‘Ponchos’

Katelyn O’Neill, ‘existential’

Patrick Osada, ‘Tree’

James Anthony, ‘Jacket’

James O’Leary, ‘Ducks’

Sven Kretzschmar, ‘Thoughts’

Ruth Aylett, ‘Turning’

Jac Shortland, ‘There’ll’

Diarmuid Fitzgerald, ‘Silent’

Sarah Murphy, ‘Can’

Wilma Kenny ‘White’

Susan Kelly, ‘Coat’

Jill Kenny, ‘Woman’

Roisin Bugler, ‘Nativity’

Denise Garvey, ‘City’

Anne Irwin, ‘An Old’

Art Ó Súilleabháin, ‘someone’

Helen Fallon, ‘Flight’

John D. Kelly, ‘Scallcrows’

Kevin Murtagh, ‘Love’

A.M. Cousins, ‘Antenatal’

Eileen Cloonan, ‘Readers’

THE LONGLISTED WRITERS ARE INVITED  TO READ FROM THEIR LONGLISTED WORK @ the Over The Edge Culture Night event @ Kenny’s Bookshop & Gallery, Liosbán Retail Park on Friday, September 20th. The fiction writers reading starts 3.30pm.
The reading by poets: 5.45pm.

We’d like to thank our competition sponsors:   Charlie Byrne’s Bookshop, Ward’s Hotel,
Clare Daly MEP, & Kenny’s Bookshop

THE SHORTLIST WILL BE ANNOUNCED @  the  Over The Edge: Open Reading on Thurs, September 26,  6.30pm   @ Galway City Library
2019 competition judge Liz McSkeane

Friday, August 16, 2019

August Over The Edge: Open Reading with Maeve Mulrennan, Nollaig O’Donnell, & Jo Burns

The first ‘Over The Edge: Open Reading’ after the summer break takes place in Galway City Library on Thursday, August 29th, 6.30-8.00pm. The Featured Readers are Maeve Mulrennan, Nollaig O’Donnell, & Jo Burns. There will as usual be an open-mic after the Featured Readers have finished. The evening will also see the announcement of the long list for the 2019 Over The Edge New Writer of The Year for which the competition judge this year is poet, fiction writer, and publisher Liz McSkeane.
Maeve Mulrennan
Maeve Mulrennan is a curator and writer based in Galway. She is the Head of Visual Art + Education in Galway Arts Centre, where she has worked since 2006. She has also worked with EVA International and Dublin City Council Culture Company this year. She is the co-curator of the youth programme for Cúirt International Festival of Literature. Maeve is also on the Board of Directors of Galway Community Circus.  Maeve is a short story writer, with fiction published in several online journals, The Doire Press 2013 Anthology, The Honest Ulsterman, for whom she also interviews writers, and The Galway Review. She holds an MA in Visual Arts Practices (Curating) from IADT Dun Laoghaire, h.Dip in Arts Administration from NUI Galway, BA (hons) in Fine Art (Painting) from Limerick School of Art and Design and  a BA(hons) in English Literature from NUI Galway. Maeve's story 'Blood Cure' won the 2018 Over The Edge New Writer of The Year competition and can be read here

Nollaig O’Donnell lives in Galway with her husband, Richard. A teacher of Piano, French and English, Nollaig has attended Susan Millar DuMar’s Advanced Writing Class and is currently a member of Galway Write-on Group. As well as writing, Nollaig also enjoys sketching and silk painting. Nollaig O’Donnell’s first book, Something Within, was published by Veritas in 2016.  It is a compilation of some of her poetry, reflections, vignettes, sketches and paintings. Her short story, In the Pink, appeared in Write-on Anthology 2019.  More of her short stories and poems will be published in the forthcoming Write-on Anthology 2020. Nollaig has recently completed her memoir, Smiling Within, which will be published later this year.  She is currently working on her first novel. 
Jo Burns

Born in Northern Ireland, Jo Burns lives in Germany. Jo's poetry has been published in Oxford Poetry, Poetry Ireland Review, Southword, The Stinging Fly, Skylight 47 and Magma, among many others. Jo has been shortlisted for the Over The Edge Prize, Bridport Prize, Strokestown International Prize and nominated for the Pushcart Prize and Best of the Net. Jo won the Shirley McClure Poetry Prize 2017 at the Irish Writers Festival, CA, the Magma Poetry Competition 2018 and the New Irish Writing in Germany Poetry Award 2018. Her pamphlet Circling for Gods was published by Eyewear Publishing. Her first full collection White Horses was published by Turas Press in November 2018; Kevin Higgins’s Galway Advertiser review of White Horses can be read here   

As usual there will be an open-mic after the Featured Readers have finished. New readers are always most welcome. The evening will also see the announcement of the long list for this year’s Over The Edge New Writer of The Year competition, which has seen a 20% increase in the number of entries compared to last year.  The MC for the evening will be Susan Millar DuMars. For further details phone 087-6431748.

Over The Edge acknowledges the ongoing financial support of Galway City Council, Poetry Ireland, & The Arts Council.