Follow Over The Edge on Twitter

Thursday, October 31, 2013

2013 Over The Edge New Writer of The Year THE WINNERS

Winner in the poetry category: 
Breda Wall Ryan of Wicklow for her poem ‘Inheritors’
Runner – Up in the poetry category: Anita Ouellette, Massachusetts, USA for her poem 'Almost Afraid To Talk To God While Others Are Listening'

Third Place— Christopher Meehan, Co. Galway for his poems 'The Ever Changing Definition of Youth in Revolt'  & ‘Bannagher’

Commended in the poetry category:

Alvy Carragher, Galway for 'Broken Symmetry' and other poems

Erin Fornoff, Dublin for 'On Planes' & other poems

Marie Cadden, Co. Galway for 'Up To Scratch'

Jennifer Matthews, Cork for 'Planning Permission'

Winner in the fiction category:  
Anna McCarthy, New York for her story 'An Inventory of Slights'

Runner – Up in the fiction category: Aidan Hynes, Dublin for his story 'Hair'

Third Place: Fiona Scoble, Galway for her story 'What have you brought for us?'

Commended in the fiction category:

Micheál Ó’Síocháin, Cork for his story 'The Last Days of The Pavilion'

Rupert Jenkins, Scotland for his story 'Tender To The Shore'

Brian Kirk, Dublin for his story 'The Creaseless Society'

Ekaterina Tikhoniouk, Laois for her story 'Katie'

The overall winner 
& 2013 Over The Edge New Writer of The Year
is Breda Wall Ryan for her poem ‘Inheritors' 

The shortlist can be viewed here &the longlist here.

We would like to thank our judge Sarah Clancy and our sponsors: Charlie Byrne’s Bookshop, ISupply Flood Street, Ward’s Hotel Lower Salthill, Derek Nolan T.D. & Kenny’s Bookshop & Gallery.