Follow Over The Edge on Twitter

Monday, October 15, 2007

Writers Group of the Year Award

As part of the second National Writers Group Festival, the Longford Arts Office invites entries for the Writers Group of the Year Award. For this, groups are asked to submit a portfolio containing one poem, one short story, one short short, and a group profile.

Judging the portfolios will be Jean O'Brien, author of two chapbooks and two poetry collections; Leo Cullen, winner of the 'PEN' Ireland & UK short story competition; Martina Devlin, award-winning journalist and author of five novels; and Kevin Higgins, co-organiser of the Over The Edge literary events in Galway and author of two poetry collections.

Prizes: First Prize: €500, Second Prize: €300, Third Prize: €150.
Entries must arrive on or before Friday 14th December 2007.

For a full list of competition rules and guidelines, visit

For further information, contact Anne Collins at