Friday, August 15, 2008

Long-list for 2008 Over The Edge 'New Writer of the Year'

The long-list for the 2008 Over The Edge New Writer of the Year competition is as follows:

Megan Buckley, Galway
Marie Cadden, Galway
Aron Costello
Veronica Creavin-Newell, Galway
Alistair Daniel, Dublin
Madeleine D'Arcy, Cork
Terry Dineen, Galway
Fiona Clark Echlin, Tipperary
Kate Dempsey, Kildare
Michael Farry, Meath
Lisa Frank, Galway
Cristina Galvin, Galway
Denise Garvey, Galway
Paula Gilbert, Mayo
Patrick Gleeson, Kilkenny
Mary Hanlon, Mayo
Eamonn Harrigan, Galway
Sandra Jensen, Cork
Hugo Kelly, Galway
Brian Kirk, Dublin
Tom Lavelle, Galway
Wes Lee, New Zealand
Niamh Madden, Offaly
Mary Madec, Galway
Donny Mahoney, Dublin
Anna May Mangan, Middlesex
Gemma Marren, Mayo
Anne McCreanor, Somerset
Alan McMonagle, Galway
Brendan Murphy, Galway
Mary Noonan, Cork
Rita O'Donoghue, Galway
David O'Dwyer, Dublin
Mairin O'Grady, Kildare
Aiden O'Reilly, Dublin
John Picardo, Galway
Hans-Joachim Quade, Galway
Maire T. Robinson, Galway
Dave Rock, Galway
Gerard Sarnat, California
Valerie Sirr, Dublin
Evelyn Walsh, Dublin

The shortlist will be announced by competion judge, Celeste Augé, at the Over The Edge: Open Reading in Galway City Library on Thursday, August 28th, 6.30-8pm, when the Featured Readers will by Roddy Lumsden, Bernie Crawford & Vincent Flannery