Follow Over The Edge on Twitter

Follow Over The Edge by Email

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Over The Edge New Writer of the Year - WINNERS!

The winner in the Fiction category, and 2019 Over The Edge New Writer of the Year, is Molly Harris from St. Louis, Missouri for her story 'The Last Long River Sigh'. Molly  studied creative writing at the 2019 NUI Galway Irish Studies International Summer School.
Molly Harris - 2019 Over The Edge New Writer of The Year

Molly receives €700 in prize money, a hamper of books from Kenny's Bookshop, Galway, and will be a Featured Reader at an Over The Edge: Open Reading in the first half of 2020. Turas Press will read, without prior commitment to publish, a collection of short stories submitted to them by Molly. 

The runner-up in the Fiction category is Helena Farrell from Cork for her story 'The Journey of A Breath'. 

In third place is Eamon McGuinness from Dublin for his story 'Our Names Into The Sea'. 

The winner in the Poetry category is Stephen DeBúrca from Galway for his poem 'Scoping'. Stephen is currently studying creative writing in Florida. 
Stephen De Búrca - 2019 poetry winner
Stephen receives prize money of €300 and Salmon Poetry will now read, without prior commitment to publish, a collection of poems submitted to them by Stephen. Stephen will also read his work at an Over The Edge event during 2020. Stephen's winning poem will appear in the next issue of Skylight 47

The runner-up in the poetry section is Kathryn Burke from Dublin, for her poem 'Sherbrooke Street Pantoum'.

In third place is Evan Costigan from Galway for his poem ‘The Trouble with Snow’.

The shortlist from which the winners were chosen is available here.

A huge thank you is due to our competition judge this year Liz McSkeane.

Over The Edge would also like to warmly thank Charlie Byrne's Bookshop, Kenny's Bookshop & Gallery, Ward's Hotel, and Clare Daly MEP. for again sponsoring our competition this year.