Follow Over The Edge on Twitter

Follow Over The Edge by Email

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

2012 Over The Edge New Writer of The Year SHORT-LIST ANNOUNCED

At this evening's Over The Edge: Open Reading in Galway City Library our competition judge, John Corless, announced the short-list for the 2012 Over The Edge New Writer of The Year.

There were a record 457 entries for this year's Over The Edge New Writer of The Year competition: 199 poetry entries and 258 in the fiction category.

The short-list is as follows:
Ron Carey, Dublin

Marie Altzinger, Dublin

Alyn Fenn, Cork

Evan Costigan, Kildare

Christopher Meehan, Galway

Kevin Murtagh, Kildare

Phil McNulty, Southport, Merseyside

Diarmuid de Faoite, Galway

Fiona Smith, Cork

Rachel Coventry, Galway

Angela Carr, Dublin

Tom Lavelle, Galway

Sighle Meehan , Galway

Liam Duffy, Galway

Liz Quirke, Galway

Erin Fornoff, Dublin

Martin Casey , Mayo

Bernadette Ashe, Galway

Colm Reynor, Dublin

Chris Connolly, Dublin

Rejini Samuel, Galway

Aidan Hynes, Dublin

Christopher Rippingale, Mayo

Chris Walker, Cork

Simon Fay, Kildare

Micheál Ó’Síocháin, Cork

Marcella O’Connor, Kerry

Alex Hijmans, Brazil

Kevin Hora, Roscommon

Richard Gibney, Dublin

Alan M. Shine, Galway

Jennifer Davidson, Dublin

Pat McDonnell, Galway

Valerie Ryan, Kildare

Steve Wade, Dublin

David O’Dwyer, Dublin

Sean Kenny, Dublin

Eileen Keane, Kildare

Sheila Armstrong, Sligo

Louise Hegarty, Cork

Gerard O’Brien, Galway

Barbara Leahy, Cork

Paula Cunningham, Belfast

We would like to thank our competition sponsors:

Charlie Byrne’s Bookshop,

ISupply Quay Street,

Ward’s Hotel,

Senator Lorraine Higgins,

Derek Nolan T.D.,

Trevor Sherlock &

The Creole Restaurant, Dominick Street

the September Over The Edge: Open Reading
in Galway City Library,
Thursday, September 27th 6.30-8pm